Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Th350 from a car to a 4x4 th350? possible?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by weisel, Nov 13, 2002.

  1. weisel

    weisel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laveen, AZ
    The output shaft in the tranny out of a car is a lot longer than the one from my truck.
    Is there a way to swap the ouput shafts on the tranny? The adaptor to the 203 looks
    as if it will bolt up but the output shaft is sticking out too much. Am I getting into too
    much here, I don't know much about auto trannys.
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You have to replace the output shaft. To do that, everything has to come out of the transmission first. It's probably easier, and about the same price, to just have the truck turbo 350 rebuilt. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif The truck trannies have a thicker case, to help deal with the weight of the transfer case hanging off the back of it. Turbo 350 rebuilds are pretty cheap (at least compared to a 700R4 rebuild). /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  3. weisel

    weisel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laveen, AZ
    Thats what I thought, but didn't want to come to terms with yet.
    Thanks, guess I'll go get it built.
     

Share This Page