Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

? Th350..&..np241

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by blazinjimmy, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. blazinjimmy

    blazinjimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 74/89 jimmy...350 transmission, 203 transfer case. What would be involved in throwing a 241 transfer case into it? [I have a 241 sitting here].

    Thank u.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  2. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Try and redrill the adapter for the round 241 pattern?

    Any other stock TH350 or TH700 adapter is going to be longer and the splines won't meet :(
     
  3. blazinjimmy

    blazinjimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adapter

    Is there an adapter plate for a th350, and a 241 transfr?
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The adapter from a 700R4/241 will work but the stick out length on the tranny won't be correct. You will need a special output shaft for the TH350 to run a NP241 with the 700R4 adapter.
     
  5. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    The TH350/NP208 adapter would work, but it needs the matching length shaft in the TH350.
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The 208 and 241 use the same adapter.
     
  7. blazinjimmy

    blazinjimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the TH350/NP208 would work?......and what do u mean 'matching length' shaft?...matching to what? [sorry if this is a dumb Question, but I know nothing about this]
     
  8. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    they're speaking of the output shaft on the trans. although the 203 and the 208 (TH350 version) should both be 27 spline. :dunno:

    i dont see why you couldnt round up a 350/208 adapter, and bolt it all together, providing your 241 is a 27 spline.
     
  9. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    The TH350 used with the NP208 had a longer output shaft.

    The super-short TH350 shaft was only used with the 203 and 205 t-cases.
     
  10. blazinjimmy

    blazinjimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info guys....I was hoping it would be an easy swap, oh well.
     
  11. big4x4ride

    big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    3/4 inche stickout on 203, 205 versio 3 " stick out on 208 version
     
  12. dessellier93

    dessellier93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vulcan MI
    th350 to np241

    what do i need to change for my np241 to bolt to my th350??
     
  13. dessellier93

    dessellier93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vulcan MI
    what shaft would i need to change to get my np241 to bolt up to th350
     
  14. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You need a shaft for the th350, the same one from a 81 only when they offered the 208 behind the th350. And you will need the right adapter, which I happen to have.
    why would you want to though?
     
  15. dessellier93

    dessellier93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vulcan MI
    okay but theres nothing i can change on transfercase? and if i got a 208 would it still work out? going in a 93chev1500
     
  16. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The 208 and 241 will mount on the same setup.
    My question is why the th350?
    You can just find a 700R4 that will bolt right up, and for a 93 it must already have that.:dunno:
     
  17. dessellier93

    dessellier93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vulcan MI
    the 350 was only thing had available at time and just going to use it also this truck used to be a 5spd so theres no wiring available and it had a turbo 400 in it before this
     
  18. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The Th400 will be easier to adapt since it was offered for so many years with the 208 and the 241, you will need the 32spline input for that tcase though.
    So what parts do you have available now?
    th350 what else?
     
  19. dessellier93

    dessellier93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vulcan MI
    the th350 adapter hopefully right one and np241
     
  20. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Guessing the 241 is driver side since it's what you need for a 93 unless you are going solid axle.
    How long is your th350 output shaft?
    and do you have an adapter from a 700R4?
     

Share This Page