Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH350 slips in park, but pawl/spring/rod looks good.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BadDog, Jun 16, 2003.

1. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

TH350 I'm putting in for my doubler is supposed to be top notch except for it slips in park. That didn't concern me too much, once I verified that the linkage could be accessed from the pan (I'm no tranny expert and never fooled much with TH350s anyway).

So, I went in last night and, to my surprise, no broken spring, no bent rod, not even a damaged pawl (as far as I could see). Everything looks fine. I can see the wear where it has slipped, but it doesn’t' look like much, could almost be normal wear maybe.(?) I'm beginning to think maybe the linkage was just a nudge out of adjustment.

I have no idea what else to look for, or how to test, and my manuals don't cover anything like this. So, any suggestions? I would hate to put it in and find I have the reported problem.

2. DesertDueler

DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

Most of the time it is the linkage is out of adjustment, so it just barely grabs the park pawl. Put is in park by hand and see if you can rotate the output shaft.

Dan

3. BadDog

That's what I did, and it easily holds against my hand. Looking down at the drum, the pawl seats fully and the ramps on the pawl are below the lip on the drum notch. I just don't see how it could *not* hold.

4. Don

Don 1/2 ton status

As long as the "notche's" on the park drum are square, and the dog is square on the pawl, it should work o.k.

Most likely a linkage, adjustment is in order. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

5. BadDog