Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH350 transmission

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by dasanii19, Nov 20, 2006.

1. dasanii19

dasanii19 1/2 ton status

I dont know if I should go all out and get my transmission rebuilt quit yet, it shift fine, the only thing Ive noticed is that it takes a little time going into reverse, and sometimes, not all the time reves up high in reverse with hardly any movment.

Im thinking maybe If I change the filter and transmission fluid that might help? Im not a transmission mechanic but would like to hear the somewhat simple things I can do on my own before paying out and getting it totally rebuilt at a shop, maybe I dont need it rebuilt quite yet? The only things I have in mind are, a new torque converter, change the filter and tranny fluid, and of course new gaskets. what else?

2. southernspeed

southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Try fluid and filter change first for sure. A bit of maintenence never hurt!

3. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

Do the filter and fluid change first, don't change the TC it won't help your reverse problem.
    I had this problem and drove it for a few years before I did fix it, reverse is usually a problem because many will rebuild the forward and forget about the reverse, I even did that mistake with my first rebuild.
    When you put it in reverse wait a few seconds then slowly give it some gas, most times it will live a little longer before it goes completely.
    :eek1:

4. BKinzey

BKinzey 1/2 ton status