Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH400 linkage and 1" body lift

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by k2-k5, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. k2-k5

    k2-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Anyone here done a TH400 into a 69-72 that orginally had a TH350? How did you convert? What kind of mods are we talking?
     
  2. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    i have one sitting where a 4 speed was but with my doubler 1" bl isn't enough without some extensive floor mods.
     
  3. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,684
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Please get this figured out right away....!!! :laugh:


    I'm pretty sure that the current 396BBC/TH350/NP205 in Stomper is being replaced by a 502BBC/TH400/ATLAS4 in the Spring...

    Not having a garage is KILLING me.



    :usaflag:
     
  4. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    The big block 2wd 67-72's came with the TH400 and used the same bolt in high hump that we use in our 4wd's. So you ought to be fine floor wise. I don't know if the length is different nor do I know about adapter differences.
     
  5. k2-k5

    k2-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I'm looking good floor wise with the 1" body lift. The linkage for the shifter is my main concern. The simple answer may be to swap linkages from the trannies but was hoping someone else has already done it and could shed some light on what they did.

    For the love of god Greg72 needs this info
     
  6. k2-k5

    k2-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I swapped the linkage part from the th350. (The part that mounts to the transmission) I can shift until I get to Reverse and Park and it doesn't quite want to go into park. Pretty darn close.

    Anyone know how I can adjust this to make it work?

    IMGP2129.JPG
     
  7. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    945
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    ...different.....

    I think the bracket on the tranny is different--the angle the squared out whole is cut at is a bit "off" on a TH400 ,compared to the TH350 one..

    You might try loosening the pinch clamp on the shifter linkage,put the tranny in park by hand at the tranny with the clamp loose,make sure the shifter is in "Park" too,and tighten the clamp down...you may have enough adjustment to make it work with the TH350 bracket..if not you'll need the bracket off a TH400..not sure if any other parts are different,like the linkage from colum to tranny??..:crazy: .
     

Share This Page