Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH400 to NP241?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mikey_d05, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    In the future I'd like to ditch my 700 for a built 400. However, I'd like to keep an NP241 for a t-case because of the low range, weight, and clockability.

    Is there a good way to put an NP241 on the back of a TH400?
     
  2. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Yeah....I have a th400 to 241/208 adapter for sale in the for sale section. :D You would also have to find a 32 spline input for your 241. Or a 241 with the 32 spline input.
     
  3. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    DOH!!! I'm a 'tard and didn't think about it being a factory combo.

    What'd they all come in? later 3/4 tons?
     
  4. dave_90_blazer

    dave_90_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melvindale, Michigan
    yup
     
  5. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Good deal, I figured the input splines would be my biggest problem but that's kinda taken care of if it was a factory combo.

    Jay, got pics? How much taller is the tall version over the shorty? I'm looking to clock the case and get everything up high.

    Once again, thanks guys.
     
  6. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    yeah and there are atleast 2 different adapters.
    The shorter one (which is not for sale)
    [​IMG]
    And the longer one:
    Which I dont have a pic of right now.
     
  7. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    lol, thanks man, if it's significantly taller I'll pass on it but thanks for the info none the less.
     
  8. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    ok since I just swapped adapters...and clocked it flat...and feel like showing off pics...
    In this pic you can kinda see how far down it sits.
    [​IMG]
    And den with the shorter adapter..
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Cool beans, sounds like you went to the shorty for the same reason I'd like to.
     
  10. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    I saw it laying in my roommates pile of crap that he would neither sell nor use ever. Even more so since he has a 2wd bagged truck now. So I said I would trade him mine for his and then sell mine and give him the money. Once I saw it I was like oooooo I could have a flat belly. Ive wanted a flat belly since like jr high, but Im too lazy to do anything about it. But thats a different story. :doah:
     
  11. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    btw....if your used flat bar or angle I think you could get away with a flat belly still. Id check out estabans pics on how he did his.
     
  12. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Just remember that if you do clock it flat you WILL need a high angle CV. I dont care what anyone says about being able to use a stocker and grinding it.
    I tried it and it didnt work. But I am runnin g52's up front and have about 10" of down travel.
    If you dont want to shell out the $1K+ for a 42" DS from HAD or someplace like that I know HAD sells just the CV for about $500.
     
  13. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    TTT...I need to know what EXACTLY I need to make this combo work.

    What output shaft should I look for for the TH400? Would a 205 or 203 32 spliner work or is the length 241 specific?

    I can probably pick up a 32 spline input for the 241 without issue.

    Also, what precisely do I need to bolt between the 241 and 400? I have an adaptor on the way but apparently it's only an inch or two thick. Is there another section of tailhousing that I should be using or is the total package that short? Thanks for any help guys.
     
  14. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    The adapter is about the same deminsions as a regular 700/208/241 adapter except it has 6 bolts for the tranny side.

    Do they really make a pass. drop 241 that is 32 spline input?? I thought the only combo was the 400/208 that came in the military vehicles.


    Dont ditch the 700, just build it up and it will never let you down. PLus the 400's have a known problem of the tailhousing breaking.
     
  15. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Use a th400 that had a 208 behind it which are quite easy to get. There are 2 adapters, a short one that almost looks just like a 700r4/241 adapter or the tall version which will be in almost all 400/208 combos. You will need a 32 spline input for your t case which is easy to swap. I have the short adapter, and input that I could sell you. I bought them to do a 241/205 doubler t case set up in my K5 but decided to just do a 203/205 doubler instead.
     
  16. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    85 - Find me a BOP 700 and I'll use it. :p:

    Wayne, I've got the 241, and an adaptor on the way, all I need to know about is the output shaft. If I've got the parts and I know they work, I might as well stick with 'em.

    Yes, 32 spline driver's drops were made, I would presume it was used quite extensively in the IFS heavy duty pickups.
     
  17. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Well I would say to use some bolts...although Bailing wire and chewgum could be fanaggled in somehow to help support it:wink1:
     
  18. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    You will need one from a th400 that had a 208 or a 241 behind it.
     
  19. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    So back to my original question, the 32 spline output on the TH400 is 241 specific and is NOT the same as one used in an NP205 or NP203 application...correct?
     
  20. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    208 or 241 spacific.
     

Share This Page