Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH400 torque converter bolts??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Sample, May 16, 2003.

  1. Sample

    Sample 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Posts:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apache Junction, AZ
    I pulled the 700R4 off the 350 to put in the 400. The TQ on the 700 had threaded mounting holes to bolt it to the flex plate, but the 400's holes aren't threaded. How do you mount the 400 TQ to the flexplate?
     
  2. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,072
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Some converters (usually performance applications) use nuts & bolts to secure it to the flywheel.
     
  3. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    My th350 uses nuts and bolts... I'm not sure if they are a special nut and bolt or not, they look normal to me...
     
  4. 8_YOUR_H2

    8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I made the 700R4 to TH350 swap and I just used a grade 5 bolt with a washer and lockwasher. I have not had any problems.
     
  5. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I had the same problem with a t350 torque converter on my old el camino. the original had threaded holes and the one I got from Summit just had clearnace holes. They do make "special" nuts & bolts kits for this, but I had a hard time finding them. Finally got a set from Classic Industries. You can just buy nuts & bolts separately and make it work though.
     
  6. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,072
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Buy some FINE thread bolts and LOCK nuts. Check the size of the holes in the converter, most are 3/8" but performance stuff will step up to 7/16". **I think** they will need to be about 3/4" long but double check that length.
     
  7. Sample

    Sample 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Posts:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apache Junction, AZ
    [ QUOTE ]
    Buy some FINE thread bolts and LOCK nuts. Check the size of the holes in the converter, most are 3/8" but performance stuff will step up to 7/16". **I think** they will need to be about 3/4" long but double check that length.


    [/ QUOTE ]
    I did exactly what you just said. Just gotta bolt them on today.
     
  8. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
  9. slimlynn1

    slimlynn1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Posts:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamden, CT
    When I got my Torco Converter It came with Nuts and bolts for my converter. On my old converter, the converter was tapped for the bolt. It could be either way depending on the converter.
     
  10. Sample

    Sample 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Posts:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apache Junction, AZ
    When I bolted the TQ to the flexplate it pulled the converter off of the tranny about 1/4". Is there supposed to be a spacer bolted between the two since I am using nuts and bolts? I always thought the TQ was supposed to be flush against the tranny.
     
  11. TWISTEDJACK

    TWISTEDJACK 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    No spacer is needed. There has to be a little play so the
    crank has a little "end play".
     

Share This Page