Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Th400 Transmission Filter Question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 78Blazer, Aug 5, 2002.

  1. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I bought a used 400 transmission anyhow I am just getting to putting it in. When I dropped the pan to change the filter and the bolt to the filter was loose I took it out with my fingers. But my question is when I went to put it back in there is the bolt and a spacer. Well when I tighting it up the bolt gets tight but there is still room between the spacer and the trans so the filter moves up and down a bit. I am assuming this bolt that is in there is wrong and I need one that will tighten down so the filter cannot move? or is this the way it is suppose to be?
     
  2. 84K5BD

    84K5BD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    arlington, mass
    that is the way it is supposed to be, kinda loose
     
  3. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    That's normal for the slight moving of the filter.

    Sounds like the tranny you got has the deep pan, which is evident from the spacer you were talking about.
     
  4. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thanks guys!!
     
  5. reddog64

    reddog64 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2000
    Posts:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    yeah mine (th400) was kinda loose...
     

Share This Page