Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

The 454 has growled!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Blazer79, Mar 11, 2002.

1. Blazer79

Blazer79 1/2 ton status

About 3 hours ago, for the first time in my life, I heard a 454 almost tear down my house. What's best is that it is MY 454 installed in my Blazer!!!!!/forums/images/icons/cool.gif I still can't believe it!!! someone please pinch me. My family came out and gave me a hand because I'm near the end of this project, and they know what it means to me.

This is the 454 I've been telling you about since May 2001 when I bought it. Started the swap in Oct, and finally cranked it today. Just imagine that. Only a set of headers Sunday at 10:30pm.

Too bad I still haven't connected my tranny (still TH350) because I need to replace the kick-down cable and dipstick tube gaskets. So I was only able to rev it up for a while.

I'm a bass player, and this engine can play bass, especially when the Flowmasters are still disconnected because the Thorleys are longer than the old Flowtech Afterburners.

I thought it was going to be all shaky because of it's power, but I was so mistaken. All vibrations went away since I replaced the engine mounts with new Energy Suspension inserts.

Sorry for the long post, but I just had to release all this joy. I want to thank all the guys that have been helping me by answering to my posts about this swap.

Thanks!

2. Redfrog

Redfrog 1/2 ton status

Congrats /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

It's a great feeling ain't it

3. Ryan B.

Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

Right on dude!
    Congratulations!
    There's nothing like the feeling of firing up your engine for the first time when it comes to life/forums/images/icons/smile.gif!

RRRROOOOAAAARRRRRRR!