Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

The Sims 2 Crashing My Comp

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Resurrection_Joe, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Ok, my comp is a great, clean, powerful runner, if a little outdated

    XP 1800 (1150mhz)
    MSI - 6712 Main Board
    512 MB RAM
    Nvidia GeForce4 TI 4200 8X AGP 128MB

    It never gives me problems, runs weeks at a time. Ither than needing to clean it, I take pretty good care of it

    Anyway

    I love playing The Sims 2, but after maybe 30 to 60 minutes of gameplay, now anyway, it will pixilate for maybe 2 seconds, and reboot my comp. It never did this before. I can;t remeber if the patch for the Sims predated the bad and good gameplay, or just the bad gameplay

    WTF Mate?
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    try updateing all your drivers and check for new patches
     
  3. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    There's only on patch, which I have installed.

    Which drivers besides video card should I be looking for?
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    i have seen sound card drives screw with games before:blush:
     
  5. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
  6. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    Have you turned off the memory dump setting. (that is if you have Windows XP)
     
  7. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    PS could be going bad.
    Aslo turn off the "reboot on error" setting and try that
     
  8. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I REALLY doubt the PS is going bad, it's ran for over 36 hours now without the crash, it never crashes, only when the power goes out or when the Sims2 ****s it over

    Please explain memory dump and reboot on error
     
  9. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    It is a seting under systems properties and start up options. Default is on, turn it off
     
  10. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Okydoke, video card driver seems to have fixed the problem
     

Share This Page