Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thermostatic switch for electric fans?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Anyone know where I could get a thermostatic switch for an electric fan setup? I was riding with a buddy in his Ranger yesterday and he has the nice Flex-A-Lite fan setup on his rig with a Thermostatic switch. Made me realize I need to go ahead and get one of these setups but I don't care in the least for spending the hundreds on a Flex-A-Lite setup. So either I will source a junkyard fan setup or buy them through work(Ford Dealer). But either way I want a thermostatic switch to control the fan relay. Anyone?
     
  2. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    would prefer a coolant passage mounted one, but thats along the lines of what I'm looking for, thanks.
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    doh there is a whole section in the Summit "Cooling and Heating" section that has Thermal Fan Switches.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. fabjunkie

    fabjunkie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas Outskirts
  7. fabjunkie

    fabjunkie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas Outskirts
    Nevermind, you replied while I was searching and typing.
     
  8. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
  9. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    That one will never shut off once the engine gets up to operating temp.
    I have the 185 off one from painless and with my 195 t-stat it never shuts off.
    I'm going to get an adjustable one that I can set the on and off temps.
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I know, I know, but I've never understood why an adjustable fan switch is worth anything.

    Pick the temp you want the fan to turn on/off at, get that switch, get the right thermostat, and forget about it.

    Apparently quite a bit of variety in OEM fan switches, Grand National I heard had the lowest of all GM stuff.
     
  11. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    So far all I have found is a 185 off switch.
    I suppose I could drop that 180 t-stat back in, but my engine seems to prefer the 195 t-stat.
    Which is why I am leaning more towards an adjustable one.
     
  12. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    local napa has been good to me about letting me browse through their echlin catalog, it lists on/off temps etc.

    Check out the GN one, IIRC it was right around 195*.

    Personally I think an on temp of about 15-20* over t-stat rated temp is just about right. Any less and it cycles too often, wasting the efficiency of an electric fan, and making unnecessary noise and hardship on the chargining system.
     
  13. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
  14. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    uhh it says it goes in "the fins of the radiator"
     
  15. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
    Well, its wrong. See the little rubber piece on the right side of the picture, that goes in between the hose and the radiator and the probe wire slips inside of it. The reason I know is because I bought it and I am using it on my truck.
    I didnt notice it said that it went throught the fins though.

    flx-31147.jpg
     
  16. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    gotcha, still much rather spend a few dollars more and get something that threads into a water passege...
     
  17. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,073
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Using the coolant temp is a good way to control fans as long as you make your turn-on temperature higher than your thermostat temperature. Using the temp of the radiator does make sense, though, since the fans don't do any good unless the radiator is hot. You just don't want to take the temp right by the water inlet, since that is hot whenever there is the smallest amount of coolant flowing from the thermostat. If you mount your temp sensor in the fins of the rad, the fans may cylce on and off rather quickly. Unless you are flowing a lot of coolant, like pulling a trailer through the desert, the radiator temp drops really fast when the fans kick in. This might actually maximize the efficiency of the fans.
     
  18. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You make a good point. My radiator has a temp sensor built into it(Corvette single core aluminum radiator for the V8 S10 swap), wonder if that sensor would work. That would be ideal now that I think about what you just said.
     
  19. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
    Mine has worked great, havent had a problem with it cycling on and off. Turns on when I need it to and turns off when it cools down. I think you guys are analyzing it a little to much. I used to have a sensor that went in the radiator fins and it worked pretty much the same way.
     
  20. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK

Share This Page