Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thinkin' bout buying a burb...need help..

Discussion in '1936-Present Suburban' started by shane74, May 3, 2002.

1. shane74

shane74 1/2 ton status

Thinkin\' bout buying a burb...need help..

Are there any years to shy away from? I am a die hard bow tie fan so it's not a question of will I buy a burb or not, it's a matter of when and which one. I personally would like an older straight axel (IFS sucks off road), but the wiff wants a 98 or newer. Are there any specific things to watch out for? I have no experience with 'burbans so I need the experts to tell me. This will be more of a DD than an off road rig. I have my blazer for that. But still, a 4" lift and 35's would be mandatory.../forums/images/icons/smile.gif!!

2. muddysub

muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

Re: Thinkin\' bout buying a burb...need help..

if the wife want's newer get a 91, last year of the straight axle. the 90-91s have the electric trannies not vacuum my 89 has a 350 / th-400 / np241 / 8-lug 10 bolt / 8-lug 14bSF. the 89 to 91s look the best (IMO) check out my webshots page or my members page to see mine.

3. jimmy88

jimmy88 1/2 ton status

One word on the older burbs RUST
    Don't know how the IFS bodies hold up. I haven't seen an 91 or older for sale in PA that doesn't have the tailgate hinge mounts (tailpan?), inner rear wheel well seam and inside the front fenders rotted.

4. 55Willy

55Willy 3/4 ton status

If it's a daily driver and for the wife I'd be looking for a 92 and newer, IFS has way better road manners and the interiors are more plush. And a 4" lift would clear 35's( all in the rims)
    Can't beat fuel injection and overdrive.
    besides if you really have to a straight axle can be put in,LMAO/forums/images/icons/wink.gif