Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thinking about buying 96 k2500 diesel pickup...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by OffRoad, Jun 13, 2006.

1. OffRoad

OffRoad 1/2 ton status

96 3/4 ton 4wd, auto tranny, ext-cab, long box. 260,000 kms. previously used to tow a 5th wheel. i'm asuming the tranny is a 4l80. these are turbo 400's with overdrive right? pretty tough?

i'm new to diesel motors. what's the equivalent of a compression test for a diesel?

it's gonna be nice having a fullsize. (i have a sammy now) i'm guessing about low 20s for mileage.

luxury stuff: it's got pw, pl, cd player, chrome grill and bumpers. a/c (which may or may not work, i don't care)

is this a sweet truck or a pos? comments welcome. thanks for your help.

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

You can find a better truck in that mid to late 90's era through a Ford or Dodge, but that truck is still a good solid truck.

Yes, the trans should be a 4L80E and it's plenty stout for that motor. It is basically a Th400 with overdrive and electronics.

You will not get low 20's out of the truck. Even the Cummins Dodges struggle to get into the 20's and only do under the right circumstances.

I have gathered that the 6.5TD guys get 13-16 in town and 15-18 on the highway. From what I have heard gear ratios make a big difference with these trucks. 3.42 geared trucks yeild the best mileage on the highway but are dogs towing and accelerating. 4.10's yeild the worst mileage but the best power. 3.73's were also available and are somewhere in the middle.

If the truck is in good shape, runs good, and is a good deal I'd do it.

Just look out for that selonoid or little electronic box that is troublesome. I can't remember it's name but someone else will.

3. 76zimmer