Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thinking about buying a LoMax 205

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by adamforsythe, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Lomax is purdy cool. If I needed even more gearing that a doubler, I'd serious consider one.

    If you need the stock 205 parts (front output etc) to complete a lomax kit, let me know. I recently parted two np205s and have lots of parts...

    j
     
  3. drivelineman

    drivelineman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2000
    Posts:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Johns gears are nice- We are a dealer for them also - Jess
     
  4. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    I would rather spend the extra coin and get the 2 speed Stak transfer case; which I plan to do in the future.
     
  5. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    how much does that kit run? i didnt see a price on there???
     
  6. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    I think it's still in developement.

    jekbrown, you have any 1350 fixed rear outputs?
     
  7. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
  8. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    are you looking for a SYE or just a 1350 yoke for a 32-spline output?

    I already sold the former... but I probably have the later laying around in my garage. I have gone through 3 np205s and the one on my K5 has HAD flanges... so I'm sure I have some yokes laying about.

    j
     
  9. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    If SYE means Slip Yoke Eliminator, then yeah... that's what I'm looking for. All the ones on eBay are for 1310 u-joints.

    If you find a 1350 yoke only, fire me off an e-mail. goldwing2000@comcast.net

    Thanks.

    [/threadjack]
     
  10. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    The LoMax is a top notch product,well thought out and worth the wait! Not much rock crawling here in Maine but a need for a good low range for sure.
    Im about half way done assembling mine and everything is perfect and I have fondled alot of 205s over the years.

    JBC if your out there:waytogo:

    IMG00006.jpg

    IMG00008.jpg
     
  11. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    mmmm...i might need some time alone with those pics.

    man that thing is beefy, and if i could afford it, id have one.

    i really like the dual bolt patterns on the face, and the clockable one too.
     
  12. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Some quiet time with the pictures is cool but just...aa dont...get anything on there alright!!!:rolleyes:
     
  13. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Dude thats really gross. hahahaha
    Is this thing easy to put together??? I have never put a Np205 together before. I am not scared to try.
    But would like so pointers. What kinda of adapter should I put on the Th350 so that I can bolt it up????.
    Thanks
    Adam

     
  14. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    From the description, it looks like TH350 and 700-R4 people are out of luck. They're only making it with a 32-spline (TH400) and a 10-spline (SM465) input.
    350 and 700 applications use a 27-spline input. :(
     
  15. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    That sucks....well hey I saved my self $1400. I'll use that money some where on my truck. I wish I was not having a NEW Th350 installed in my truck as we speak or I would dump a Th400 in there and order the new Np205
    Thanks
    Adam

     
  16. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    Unless you plan on really hammering on your truck or installing 53" tires, a reguler NP205 will be more than enough.
     
  17. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    I take that back.

    Don't see a price, though.
     
  18. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    I baught it, sorry dude:D
     
  19. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,970
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Except it has the WORST low range of t-case used by GM. That is the point of the LoMax.
     
  20. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    If the unit was setup for a 4:1, you would see a lot more people buying them.
     

Share This Page