Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thinking of buying a Dodge (for a towrig duh!)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by juanblzer, May 8, 2006.

1. juanblzer

juanblzer 1/2 ton status

I'm going to get one: I want it to be able to tow my travel trailer and my blzer while on a flatbed goosneck trailer (35ft+).

Things I know I want:
    a 4x4
    an extended cab
    a cummins!
    I test drove an extended cab 4x4 2002 with a Cummins and an Auto. It was sweet.

Things I don't know?
    What years and setups are the hot ticket?
    Can I get an older one (payments would be a lot cheaper)?
    Shortbed?
    Longbed?
    Dually?
    Oh diesel fans... please give me your knowledge.

2. southernspeed

southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

3. stallion85

stallion85 1/2 ton status

I am no deisel expert, but I do own an 05' Cummins, ext cab, 4x4. I tow my K5 around with it and let me tell you there is no problem hauling that thing at 75 MPH up any grade. She just wants more punishment:D

[​IMG]

Check out Towrig.com CK5 sister site. Lot's of gurus over there:wink1:

4. vtblazer

vtblazer 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Great timing for this thread. :bow:

I'm in the exact same boat, looking for a Dodge for towing also but for me it's gotta be a quad cab.

I'll be watching this one, come on guys - give us the goods.

5. zero cool

zero cool 1/2 ton status

What do they call all that crap they bolt to the Cummins engine?

A Dodge. :D

I had a Dodge diesel for a while. While the drivetrain was great, the rest of the truck was a turdbox from hell. You couldn't pay me to buy another one no matter how good Cummins makes the engine.

6. FWP

FWP CRS

What, did you just hit the lottery or what? :haha:

Seriously though, what's your budget, and how fast do you want to go?

7. Ten_Bucks