Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thinking of Painting the K5

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by m1ndless, Mar 15, 2007.

1. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

Well I just bought my 79 about a month ago, right now it is white and is in pretty bad shape, I was thinking of fixing the body and painting it, but I cannot decided on a few things.

I am going to be doing a "at home" paint job, now should I do rattle cans or should I invest in a sprayer?

Secondly, I am thinking of a dark gray or charcoal color, what do you guys think?

Thirdly, do I need to sand down all the way to metal to paint it? What about the hard top?

Any tips? As this is my first time painting a car myself, I did soem touch up work on my k5 yesterday, and decided I should do the whole thing. I will put up pictures soon

2. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Sanding the top down to the metal would be hard :haha:

Me, I'd rattle can it ... but it depends on how nice you want. Search, it's been covered ... look for any of my posts about my trucks. I've rattlecanned two and did one with the sprayer, it's kinda a tossup.

Also look for anything ryoken has said.

Really, the key is prep, prep, and prep. Clean, sand, clean, sand, clean, bondo, sand, clean, bondo, sand, sand, clean ... etc.

-- A

3. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

I meant do I need to do any real sanding to the top, I am WELL aware that the camper is not made of metal. Lol

4. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Hey, don't I get to TRY and be funny? =))

Anyway, that also has been covered ... I've only done one K5 top (the other is topless and the pickup is, of course, a pickup.) I lightly sanded it to take the crap off, but the previous owner, the local PD, had painted it well so I just primered over that.

-- A

5. rjfguitar