Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

This a good deal? TIG welder

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 84gmcjimmy, Dec 26, 2005.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
  2. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
  3. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    seems ok but that is a HUGE unit. think shipping cost/room


    my old boss has a unit (miller) half that size that was a power sorse for mit/tig/stick, and had a small tig unit atached, shop master i think it was called.

    and if i am reading it right you would need a 300 amp service to run it.


    i would stick with mig, unless your doing something that really requiers the use of tig.
     
  4. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    I wouldn't buy it. I don't have room for a 700 pound welder. Just thought it was really cheap for that huge of a welder...
     
  5. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    "It's your fault you bought the giant instant for 99 yen and it doesn't taste good, quit trying to steal mine"
     

Share This Page