Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

this is a dumb question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ch3vy4x4, Feb 12, 2005.

1. ch3vy4x4

ch3vy4x4 Registered Member

im a noob but
    when i go to put my 4 in lift on my 78 that i got. will i need longer shocks? if so what will i need

2. smokkey1

smokkey1 1/2 ton status

yup, you'll need longer shocks. not sure which ones but whatever calls for your application.

3. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

Yes, unless you only drive like grandma to the mall....

Just get shocks for a 4" lift unless you are planning on it being really flexy and need even longer ones.

A search will reveal several choices of shocks that will work in off brands that can be picked up cheaply at any parts store....

4. ch3vy4x4

alright, now i see u only have a 4 in lift and ur runnin 36s, people were tellin me that i wont be able to run any more then 35s on a 4 in lift witha 2 in body lift. with out rubbin

5. ch3vy4x4

well what do u suggest for some decently cheep good shocks?

6. smokkey1

smokkey1 1/2 ton status

It's all about how much you want to :hack: take a look at my pictures theres should be a link in my profile or sig.

7. smokkey1

smokkey1 1/2 ton status

gabriel shocks from autozone. just tell them it's for an 4" lift.

8. ch3vy4x4

alright cool, thanks you guys are alot of help.

9. big4x4ride

big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

i have 4" and 36's no trimming at all, but it did rub a little until it bend the lips on the front fender back slightly

10. ch3vy4x4

see i think ill be fine runnin 36s expecialy witha 2 in body lift, if it rubs ill just put a 3 in body lift on it.

11. ch3vy4x4

so all i will have to do is get new shocks? will all my stearin line up and my brake lines?

12. smokkey1

smokkey1 1/2 ton status