Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Those running holley truck avenger

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Muddytazz, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Where are you running your vacuum line for the brake booster too?
     
  2. TWISTEDJACK

    TWISTEDJACK 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    intake port
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    On my current quad, the brake vacuum is hooked to the base of the carb and my heater controls and tranny modulator is hooked to the intake port. With my new motor I'm running an edelbrock air gap intake and the holley truck avenger. Ports are different?
     
  4. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    602
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    You should run the Brake booster off the bottom of the carb for vac. Not sure if it makes a difference but in my head it does cause from the carb you get eight times the vac that you get from one intake port.
     
  5. ntx78k5

    ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home of the Rangers
    What he said :waytogo:
     
  6. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,331
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    What vacuum line? (hydroboost for me)

    I did notice that both the large vacuum ports are on the passenger side. Figured that kinda sucked for vac boost.

    I just got a brand new Truck Avenger from Holley, and there are 2 large vacuum ports, one at the rear of the carb and other at the front. Like I said both are on the passenger side. If it were me I would use that rear one.

    I did have a port on the intake (regular RPM), but it wouldn't clear the fuel bowl.

    Do you need pics?
     
  7. 79chevyk10

    79chevyk10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Mine has a large vacuum port on the pass. side of the carb just for the brake booster. Check the owner's manual for location if you do not see it.
     
  8. TWISTEDJACK

    TWISTEDJACK 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I checked mine at lunch and I was wrong the booster is off the base of the carb and the tranny is off the intake port :doah:
     
  9. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    left rear bottom of the cholley truck avenger. it says somewhere right in the directions i think. i remember i found it somwehere when i hooked mine up
     
  10. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yeah I found the book that came with it AFTER I called holley(which is a second story). Brake booster in back, PCV in front, top front is vac advance....the only other port on the carb is the little one next to the PCV port in the front. Have no idea if I even need that.



    On the other story, I called Holley tech support to ask them about the brake booster hook up, they asked name and number of carb, told them that info and they flat out told me to send it back to them and they'll send me a new carb. It's the 1st design (#90670) the second design is -1 and the 3rd design is -2 :D
     
  11. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    Didn't you just get it? Where'd you scrounge up an old one? I'm getting mine swapped out this week too, but I've had it since '02. :rolleyes: Lot's of fighting, and I didn't know why.
     
  12. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Nope, I got mine on a motor I bought from a fellow ck5er.
     
  13. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,331
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    It's a good deal. I sent mine in on a Tuesday and had the new by Wednesday the following week. That was a couple of weeks ago.

    I haven't drove it on the street yet, but I did some driveway tuning and it seems better than the other one I had. There are some obvious visual differences on the metering blocks. I pulled mine apart to re-jet.
     
  14. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Well I'm pulling the old motor out and putting in the new motor on saturday, so I guess I'll just have to wait a bit before I can fire it up.
     
  15. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    Are there recalls on the 770 model too, or justthe 670????

    My 770 doesn't have any of the '-' in the part no....
     
  16. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    Don't know, you'd have to contact holley. If you have a problem with a stumble/stutter/hesitation then you should contact them. If not, don't worry about it. IIRC, the 670 came out before the 770 and the 470, so maybe they had all the bugs worked out already when they made the other two.
     

Share This Page