Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????'s

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stallion85, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    I already posted on the ORD forum but have yet to get any responses. I thought some of you guys that have them could help me out. I recently purchesd the ORD swaybar disconnect kit and poly bushing kit. I followed the instructions provided by ORD and the write up Steve did on CK5. My question is how tight should you have the frame mounts for the sway bar and do you guys have as hard a time pulling the pins out? It took me a good 15 min to line the stinking thing up and I had the basically pound it into place /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif I know it shouldn't be so hard or people wouldn't buy the product /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif Any tips or ideas would be great /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,032
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    yeah, loosen up the bolts that hold the bushings in place and lube them suckers up really good with grease... when disconnected ya oughta be able to rotate the ASB in those bushings by hand without being a muscle-bound body builder.

    j
     
  3. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    If you aren't on totally level ground, it's a super-PITA to get the pins in and out. I can do it by hand in my driveway, but I wear a glove because I've hit my hand when it comes free. It's not easy.
     
  4. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    How loose can they be without having to worry about the bolts falling out? Also I put the bushings in where the sway bar connects above the spring plate but I am thinking they are not pressed enough, due to the fact there isn't much room between them and the pin slot thingy majigger /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  5. 89K1500Chevy

    89K1500Chevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Fayetteville
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    Mine is completely out of the truck to for weight reduction... and its faster then using quick disconnects
     
  6. jms

    jms 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    --
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    I got a greasable bushing set for the swaybar crossmember mounts from Autozone - makes the bar easy to move.
     
  7. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    mine are tight too- Thats ok, All I do is carry a hammer and a 3/8th 6" extension. Helps me line everything up, and helps me remove the pins too.
     
  8. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Re: Those who have sway bar disconnect....I have ?????\'s

    [ QUOTE ]
    How loose can they be without having to worry about the bolts falling out? Also I put the bushings in where the sway bar connects above the spring plate but I am thinking they are not pressed enough, due to the fact there isn't much room between them and the pin slot thingy majigger /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I think they were saying to loosen up the bolts and greese the heck out of them, but still tighten them up, i would imagine though as long as they are decently snug, you shouldn't have any problems with them falling out, Maybe put lock nuts on the bolts to make sure they don't come out.
     

Share This Page