Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Those with co2 tanks

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85mudblazin, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I just finished making my co2 tank, I made it out of a 10lb bottle and I used a adjustible welding regulator, my question is when I crank it up to like 150 psi and I hit the trigger on my blow gun at first it comes out really fast but then it drops pressure, then when you let go it charges back up, is this normal or do I need a diffrent regulator??
    Thanks
    -Chris
     
  2. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    why dosent annybody use nitrogen? too hard to get? all i ever see is co2, anny way ya it sounds like the regulator, you should get full preasure all the time
     
  3. namkrow

    namkrow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    the welding regulator wasn't designed to maintain that kind of flow and it ices up or just can't flow enough.

    Can you fill a c02 cyl with NO2? I'd love to. I have a 20# cyl.
    -T
     
  4. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    ok then so where can I get regulator that wont do that? williams balloon doesnt work anymore so I am stuck.
    help please.
    Thanks
    -chris
     
  5. TxK5Blazer

    TxK5Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Posts:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Floresville, Tx
  6. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    what did it cost you for the tank?
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I think it was 92 filled
     
  8. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    thanks. I think I might do the same thing /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  9. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    do you know if you can hook up air tool to the co2 tank?
     
  10. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,351
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Here's your answer to that. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    thank you /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  12. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Anybody know where else to get the static (pre-set non dial type) regulator? Nobody in phoenix seems to have one and I cannot find one online that isn't from an offroad shop. I would like to buy from an air place cause there is a convenience fee from just about all of the offroad shops (a $26 regulator now costs $39 cause they can sell it to yuppie jeeps owners)
     
  13. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,351
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Here's a post I had with the same question .
     
  14. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Could also be the type of hose your using. The hose can buildup up pressure and expand slightly then reduce when the pressure is released. Also maybe the hose isnt large enough in diameter to carry the full flow /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  15. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    what would be the best air hose to use?
     
  16. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,351
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Here's a place that sells some air hose. The "35ft Buddy" one is rated at 200psi.
     
  17. BAJA_BLAZER

    BAJA_BLAZER 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I use a Fixed Pressure Regulator made by Balloon Barron (120 lbs) with no gauges that I got from the local Welding Supply House (WSE in San Diego) for just under $30. You can also buy/rent your bottle there and get it refilled. They will have CO2, Nitrogen, Argon, Oxygen and just about any other gas you could want. Each gas requires a different valve for safety reasons, although there is some crossover. For example CO2 and Nitrogen have different valves. The difference is in the output coupling, threads and style. You can get adapters to convert one output to another for some applications. I have three CO2 bottles and one Nitrogen. I use the CO2 for just about everything in the field you can think of, Air Tools, Airing up tires and MIG Welding (the Miller 200 has its own adjustable regulator and gauges in the shop). The Nitrogen is used only for charging Shock Absorbers after rebuilds. The reason that you want to use CO2 over Nitrogen are several. CO2 is cheaper, safer and lasts longer. Nitrogen is stored in compressed form as a gas at up to 2000 PSI so breaking a valve off could be catastrophic. CO2 is stored in compressed form as a liquid at around 800 PSI. Because it is stored as a liquid the same size tank can hold more cubic feet of gas. The gas that is released from the tank is evaporated off the top of the liquid CO2 at an almost constant pressure of I think 600 PSI at a given temperature until all the liquid is gone. The Nitrogen bottle will have half the original pressure when half the original volume is used. The only way you can tell how much Nitrogen is left in the tank is by the tank pressure, so a gauge is necessary. With CO2 you can only tell how much is left in the tank by weighing it.
     
  18. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    right on i was just curious, we use NO2 at work to fill up the airplane tires so i thought that it might work just as well, thanks for the info
     
  19. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
  20. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Re: Those with co2 tanks (williams ballon is still opperating)

    I called williams baloon today and got the regulator. I asked about their site and was told it is gonna be up in a week or so. They said the old site was more than out of date so a total make over was done. Nice folks over their real friendly. They even gave me a discount for being in a 4x4 club (well ck5.com at least). It was $30 bucks by the way /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     

Share This Page