Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Thread Maintenance ACK - Help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by merc359, Mar 29, 2005.

1. merc359

merc359 1/2 ton status

Hi guys,

I am sure this is in a FAQ somewhere, but I cannot find it and I am a rookie here at CK5....

How do I "close" a thread?

For example, I have some "GM Parts Wanted" ads that I want to close. How can I rename the thread or CLOSE the thread so that people don't keep posting to it?

2. bigcountryk5

bigcountryk5 1/2 ton status

there is an edit button in your post (bottom right beside reply) erase contents and rename closed

3. merc359

merc359 1/2 ton status

Another question

Ok, I got that. However, just one more question:

Doesn't that make the search function kind of ineffective? For example, someone might want to search the threads for "TH400" and if I have blanked out the contents, doesn't that make the search less powerful?

4. thezentree

thezentree 3/4 ton status

In theory, yes, but you're selling it, and if it's already been sold, it's not worth their time anyway.

5. 75-K5

75-K5 3/4 ton status

The best thing to do is send a PM to a moderator (such as me :p: ) and ask that it be deleted. I'm pretty anal about unnecessary threads so I'd probably be the best person to PM. :rotfl:

6. merc359

merc359 1/2 ton status

Search Function

Yeah, with a sold item or a "Wanted" ad I can understand wanting to delete it, close the post, and totally get rid of it. However, for tech articles it is handy to leave it there.

For example, I had a question about the best way to get 4" of lift without using a standard over-the-counter lift package. I got a number of responses, some of which might useful to someone else in my situation looking at a lift package.