Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Throtle cable

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ntx78k5, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. ntx78k5

    ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home of the Rangers
    Well the throttle cable on my 78 snapped last night and I called Pep boys, Autozone and Orielly's and no one carries or can order this. Any idea's other than the junk yard?
     
  2. BIG*RED

    BIG*RED 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    perhaps try summit, jegs, Lokar, or dealership
     
  3. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Junk yard or I got one a few years ago at the Chevy Dealer!
     
  4. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,540
    Likes Received:
    935
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    hmmmm,,

    They sell them at all the parts stores in my area!----maybe you need to speak to a different counterperson at the store??...some places blow off customers if they feel its too much "work" to look in a catolog or make a phone call or two...might try a Napa if you have one in your area...

    Other than that I'd say a dealer,but its unlikely they will have the one you need sitting on a shelf...have to order it,then if its not correct,your stuck with it..junkyard is probably the cheapest place with the best selection... :crazy:
     
  5. ColAdo82K5

    ColAdo82K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MO
    Tell Autozone that you need an Accelerator cable, they should have it in stock for $12
     
  6. YZEATER

    YZEATER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Posts:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TARENTUM, PA
    while were on throttle cables. my cable is in a loop between the firewall and the carb, i assume it's not supposed to be that long that it's in a loop? '77 gmc 1/2 ton truck.
     
  7. ntx78k5

    ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home of the Rangers
    Many Thanks,
     
  8. YZEATER

    YZEATER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Posts:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TARENTUM, PA
    does everyone's throttle cable have a loop in it?
     
  9. ntx78k5

    ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home of the Rangers
    I found one at Pepboys last night $15.99 autozone still couldnt find it in their system. The ony I had did have a small loop in it, not a full circle, its snapped where it looped.
     
  10. justwhatido

    justwhatido 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    Lmc

    Can del to you overnight too.

    Fred
     
  11. tdcombs

    tdcombs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    yes, i dont know why they do but all ive seen do
     
  12. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i think they all have loops. i went to autozone for one and the counter guy looked thru the computer and couldnt find one. i went home and looked it up on autozone.com, and got the part number. sure enough they had one in stock. sometimes its easier to find the parts yourself online, then have the counter guy look up the part number.

    i hear GM dealers still carry them too.
     

Share This Page