Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tie rod

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 4X4HIGH, Nov 13, 2005.

  1. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    For those of you running an ORD Tie rod what size rod did you go with? Also will DLE's work in place of the stock TRE's, IE: same taper? I am just wondering so i don't have as many different parts on my rig. It would be nice to have the same ends on both my tie rod and crossover draglink.

    Does anyone have a part number for the DLE's.

    I might have found the number of the DLE's that ORD supplies with their crossover steering, Moog # ES2010L, ES2010R if i'm not mistaken. I just found the card i wrote those numbers on, can anyone confirm that this is correct?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2005
  2. cok5

    cok5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't wanna run DLE's on a tie rod, I don't even like running DLE's on the drag link, they are long shanked and weak IMO. ORD uses either 2010L and 2234R's/2010R's on everything, they do not use DLE's since there DL is bent and puts it at much less of an angle. Looking at there pics I would say they are the 2010L&R. I would use the 2010L and the 2234R since the 2234R is quite a bit cheaper than the 2010R. They are nearly the same except the 2234R has a little longer shank.

    Check this out, http://www.partsmikeparts.com/tre_comparison.htm
     
  3. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    That's what i meant, i want to know if i can run the 2010L/2010R as a tie rod using the HD DOM tie rod from ORD. This way i only have 2 different ends on my rig.

    I just took a look at the site and it looks like i can run the same ends in my tie rod. :thumb:
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    So back to one of my questions, what size tie rod do most of you run the use the ORD tie rod?
     
  5. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The big one, I bounced it off several rocks pretty hard last time out and it's held up. More "research" to be done on Saturday. :D
     
  6. 79Beast

    79Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Posts:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I'm running a 1.5" O.D. .375" wall DOM tie rod with TRE's. I bent it..but it's held up fairly well. If I had it to do again, I'd use 1.5" solid chromoly and just drill and tap the ends for 2 right hand TRE's from the parts store.
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    1 1/4" Chromo tie rod, will bend like crazy but when the load is off it just springs right back to straight.
     

Share This Page