Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TIG welding for dummies ?

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by ryan22re, Jul 6, 2006.

1. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

So I have been playing around with the TIG welder and I think I am getting pretty good at laying a bead. I started practicing by just making a puddle and then dragging it along in a "D" shaped pattern. Slowly but surely I started getting better (at least I think so) and finally worked my way up to adding some filler rod and laying some beads. So far I'm practicing on scraps of flat stock, no corners or anything like that.

Have any tips for the beggining TIG welder? Have any fixes for shakey hands? It's almost like I need to take a chill pill before I start welding. I've tried different positions and using the torch with my left and right hand with limited success. What about grip on the torch? Would that make a difference? Right now I kind of hold it like a pencil.

How would you practice your TIG welding? I.e. welding particular shapes or tubing or what?

Thanks in advance.

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

I'm also a TIG 'beginner'. My boss is giving me tips and letting me practise on my own time. I use a piece of 2x4 or whatever is handy as a rest for my hand (or elbow or forearm) I'll go as far as clamping a rest somewhere, and it does make a big difference.

I find fillet's are easiest because you can pretty much rest the cup against the work and stay way steadier. I practise outside corners, fillet's and butt joints with a small prep or gap. I get lots of practise welding up machining errors on mild steel...