Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Timing Problem

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k5blazerguy, Sep 2, 2003.

  1. k5blazerguy

    k5blazerguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso NM
    i have never been able to get k5 on "time" does anyone know an easier way to set the timing on my 85k5 without having to guess where the mark is /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    umm look at the timing tab with a timing light?
     
  3. k5blazerguy

    k5blazerguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso NM
    i've done that and put the mark all over the tab. where the mark is now is about an inch off to the left of the tab and it runs a little better but still is not right
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    umm look for the real big V. Then put it at like the second peak to the left of it. Should be about 4 degrees advanced if I'm thinking right. Thats a safe place to start. if your not running there, there may be more issues than just setting timing(being 180 out or cam improperly degreed).
     
  5. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Does that one have the computer controlled advance where you need to disconnect the brown wire first before setting initial to Zero ??
     
  6. k5blazerguy

    k5blazerguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso NM
    i don't think that it is computer controlled. its an 85k5 and the motor is a 79,but i still have the hei dist. in it from the 85 motor
     
  7. MOABDADC22

    MOABDADC22 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheyenne, Wy
    Are you pulling and capping the vacuum advance?
     

Share This Page