Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Timing

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1979Jimmy, Jan 29, 2002.

1. 1979Jimmy

1979Jimmy 1/2 ton status

Im just a crazy amateur mechanic and I was wondering if anyone could give me any help on how to adjust the timing. Picutres would be very helpful.

79 Jimmy, 5" lift 35 M/T with a 383 puttin out 400hp and 450lb/ft. 4.11s Locked front and back.

2. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status

I don't have any pics, but here you go...

There are three things primarily for adjusting timing:
    (1) the timing "tab" on the front of your engine and the associated timing mark on the balancer
    (2) the distributor and its "hold-down" clamp
    (3) the vaccuum advance on the distributor

For tools you will need some sort of engine analyzer or other tool that will help you monitor the engine's RPM. Second you will need a timing light. Finally you will need a special 9/16" wrench for the distributor clamp and a small screw or golf tee for plugging the vaccuum line.

Here's what you do...
    First, find the timing tab on the front of your engine by the balancer and the associated timing groove on the balancer. I usually mark the groove with soem white chalk or paint to make sure it will show up better with the light.
    Second, disconnect your vaccuum advance line from your distributor. It should be the only vaccuum tube going to it. Once disconnected, be sure to plug the vaccuum line with a small screw or a golf tee.
    Third, locate the distributor clamp and bolt. If you are over the engine and looking down on the distributor, it should be on the manifold at the base of the distributor at about 7 or 8 o'clock.