Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

to change the cam, or not to

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by tunedportk5, Aug 15, 2004.

  1. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    now that I have the intake off putting on the TPI, now it's time to deside if I should put a diffrent cam in or leave the one that came with the crate motor that was installed a year and half ago or so /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Why not ??? You've got it this far apart. Call Comp Cams and see what they recomend for your engine.
     
  3. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,062
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If the cam that's in it now has any kind of lopey idle it won't work too well with the ECM and you should replace it with a computer friedly version. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Do you know what kind of vacuum you have at idle with the cam that's currently in the engine? If you aren't making at 17" of vacuum it won't work correctly.
     
  4. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    its just a stock gm cam, the engine has good power with the carb
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    The cam I've got in my 350 is a 204/214 .454 max lift Crane roller, and my suggestion is don't get too wild with the cam.

    I'd stick with something around what was stock in the TPI Camaro's, as those tended to be a decent "compromise" motor, plenty of torque, and HP wasn't too shabyy.

    My engine seems to pull pretty strong, but power is definitely subjective. TPI is excellent at making low end torque, but high end HP is just not gonna happen with the stock setup. At some point, at the expense of torque, a quest for HP will reach the systems bottleneck and won't help one bit.

    My truck isn't going to hang with a another aggressive 350 carbed rig, but thats not what I designed it for. Thats why you have the superram, miniram, etc., in attempts to get around the long tube runner "shortcomings".

    I can idle up some pretty impressive inclines, so I'm happy with my setup.
     
  6. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    whats are the specs on a 350 gm crate motor does any one know
     
  7. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    looking in summit trying to deside what to go with
     
  8. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    leave it alone
     

Share This Page