Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

To shift or not to shift (my own gears that is) :)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fortcollinsram, Mar 7, 2002.

1. fortcollinsram

fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

I have been soul searching a lot lately and debating the conversion to manual from my 700r4. I have a few questions reguarding the whole thing...

First, how hard is it to do...Is this pretty much a bolt-on affair or is there a lot of hacking to do?...I have good mechanical sense but I have only had my truck since November...so I am still learning and therefore leary in some areas...

Can somebody give me a list of ALL the parts I am going to need? I don't have a real good sense of what the manual conversion requires so I need a little guidance...

IS IT WORTH IT...I really like rowing my own gears, and I don't particularly mind it in heavy traffic either...Do you all feel the gain in reliability is worth it?

With the SM465 tranny, what gears should I be running in my axles (I have 35" tires)for a good offroad and highway medium...I was thinking 4.10's any other ideas?

Any other tips/pointers/warnings/ego-boosters? Thanks for any and all input gang...you all never cease to amaze me with you seemingly infinite amounts of knowledge...

Later,

Chris

2. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member