Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

to tach or not to tach

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Blazer_Schwabie, Feb 22, 2003.

  1. Blazer_Schwabie

    Blazer_Schwabie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington state
    i have a 1980 k5 with a rebuilt 350 and i wanna know the rpms, do you think i should get a tach or not? It has an auto tranny. And if yes on a tach what type or size? /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
     
  2. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the factory ones.
    hard to find but I think they look the cleanest
     
  3. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm partial to Auto meter gages. 3" is good for a tach, not to big or small.
    placement is just a matter of choice. the column is out as it is an auto so either the dash or down by the ash tray.
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    If you want to see RPM's then yes put a tach in. I run an Autometer 2 5/8" tach in my truck. It is 6000RPM (plenty for my 350) and I mounted it down on the floorboard next to the Tcase shifter. It is angled toward me so I can glance down and see the RPM whenever I need to, and it is also mounted near my tranny temp gauge so I look at that too.
     
  5. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
  6. Blazer_Schwabie

    Blazer_Schwabie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington state
    if i were to get one how hard is it to install? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. schmuck

    schmuck 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nola(new orleans LA)
    easy just four wires 1+ 2- 3ignition 4lights
     
  8. JohnnyFresno

    JohnnyFresno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clovis, CA
  9. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    i want it
    *drools*
     
  10. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    That dash is amazing, makes the interior of that truck look totally different. I want, I want...
     
  11. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,142
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Iowa
    [ QUOTE ]
    The dash that Shaggy did is absoluty excelent lemme try to find a pic of it.

    http://community.webshots.com/album/42402425NpUFfc

    check there.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I love that dash. Shaggy, if you are listening did you wire all those gauges into the factory wiring or eliminate the factory wiring? As far as whether to tach or not to tach. It should be on your list for upgrades right near the top IMO.
     

Share This Page