Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Too much for an '89 Suburban...?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Martino, Jun 21, 2005.

1. Martino

Martino Registered Member

Hey everyone.
    Brand newbie here at CK5. Been reading some, though and it is a great place...

So I am all set to buy an '89 Suburban, 2WD 1500. Absolutely beautiful, 185,000 miles altogether, 40,000 miles on a new crated Delco 350 and totally rebuilt back half of the transmission. (700..? forgive my total newbness).
    So much new or rebuilt stuff I can't even remember it all. (and by new I mean 5 years ago/40,000 miles ago)
    New U joints, rebalanced drive shaft, re-arced back springs, brand new muffler system.
    Rebuilt the front half of the tranny 100,000 miles ago.
    Interior is real nice, not perfect but still pretty sweet.
    Everything works, all the AC, lights, power everything all works.
    Has a hitch, but I'm guessing that doesn't mean it has a towing package. (which I must admit, don't even know what that is... fancy transmission details?)
    New brakes, barely touch them and it stops on a dime.
    Lived in New Mexico it's whole life, so no rust.
    Beautiful chrome rims with damn new tires, normal size, not huge. (bummer...)

This suburban has obviously been impeccably maintained. It's a dream to drive, totally straight, powerful and smooth...
    The guy seems to have thrown money at it for a long period of time. Hell, he put $4000 into the GORGEOUS all black paint job (5 years ago as well).

And that's what he is asking for it.... $4000. He's not moving, either.

What do you guys think? I don't care if it's a bit more than fair, I trust the way this truck found me and I trust the seller. I just want to make sure it's not totally outrageous!