Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Top Engine Cleaner>>?? How to...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Kamots, Oct 22, 2002.

1. Kamots

Kamots Registered Member

Hey guys newb here. I picked up some "top engine cleaner" so i can do some maintenance on my K5, its a 87 305TBI with 83k actual miles. Used only to pull boats. If someone could go thru the steps for me using this product. Also i was wondering, it says "if the vehicle has an air management system, disconnect the AIR diverter valve solenoid to divert the AIR from the converter." Now as im not a mechanic but am not oppossed to learing new things, please tell me if i have such to deal with. Thanks in Advanced......

Kamots /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Are you talking about a cleaner/degreaser ???? If so, the best stuff I've found is Easy-Off oven cleaner. Just spay it on all over the motor, coat it real good, drive around for 20 mins to an hour, stop at a car wash and hose off. Warning: will take the paint off the engine aswell as dirt, grease, oils, and grime. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

3. Kamots

Kamots Registered Member

Actually it goes in the motor. I got the tip offa the site here, it helps to remove carbon buildup an such. Blows the nasty stuff out the exhaust. Just wanted some assurance on what im planning to do with it. Thanks for the response /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

4. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Oh, I guess we're talking about 2 different things then.

5. Gary 86 K5

Gary 86 K5 1/2 ton status