Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Torque Converter filling?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by talldogg, Jan 23, 2001.

  1. talldogg

    talldogg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Just wondering what the proper method and capacity is for filling a torque converter. I had to pull the torque converter off with the engine and it spilled some ATF, so I just want to make sure it's topped off the way it's supposed to be when I put it back. The engine was siezed and I couldn't get to the last bolt, so I had to pull it off with the engine. Thanks[​IMG]

    It's not what you buy, it's what you build!
     
  2. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    It fills itself when started. Just reinstall it, maybe add the same amount of tranny fluid that you think you lost to the tranny and start it up. Get it hot and check the level in park, and adjust accordingly. This is not "rocket science"!!

    ken
     
  3. talldogg

    talldogg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ken,
    Thanks for the reply.[​IMG] BTW I feel a LOT smarter now!LOL

    It's not what you buy, it's what you build!
     

Share This Page