Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

torque converter ?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by 75k10chevy, Sep 18, 2006.

  1. 75k10chevy

    75k10chevy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liberty Lake, Washington
    I am looking into swapping my sm465 out for a built 700r4, but im having trouble finding a torque converter. I'm pretty sure that a torque converter for a 6.2 diesel is different then a gas converter due to the different rpms that they opperate at? What is the stall speed on a diesel converter? Also, anyone know where I can get a new one?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The 6.2l came standard with the 700R4 so you should have no problem getting one new or rebuilt.
    You can get them from Kragen, Napa, etc...
     
  3. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    what makes you inclined to swap in the automatic?
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,170
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Maybe for the overdrive? The 465 was only offered in the 3/4 ton and one tons which also means 4.10's are likely. Prolly pulls real good but roars on the freeway if the tires aren't oversized.

    Rene
     
  5. 75k10chevy

    75k10chevy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liberty Lake, Washington
    Yeah its mainly for the OD. The truck is the one in my sig, I havent taken it on the freeway since i got the 38.5"s on there but with the 36"s and 4.10's it screamed on the freeway and had trouble keeping up with trafic. I dont have a tach (yet) so i dont know what my rpms where but my boost was at 9 pounds (max recommended according to banks). And i dont know what my EGTs where as that guage doesnt work :doah: (still gotta figure that one out). I like driving it on the street with the stick, but i prefer an auto off road. What kinda oil preassure do you guys have at warm idle? Mines around 5 which makes me nervous, but when i first start it up in the morning its at 45. Is that normal? BTW, its a mechanical oil preassure gauge.

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  6. 75k10chevy

    75k10chevy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liberty Lake, Washington
    Thanks, for some reason i didnt even think about going to Napa. :doah:
     
  7. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,170
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    My oil pressure at cold idle is about 65-70, warm idle about 30-35, warm and on the highway about 45-50. My 6.2 has about 230,000 miles on it.

    Rene
     
  8. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    I think it's about 1800. Yes the TC is different. When you buy a converter and built, or build, your 700r4 make sure it's for a diesel:D It makes a difference:bow:

    What part of CA are you in? Lakewood Transmissions comes highly recommended. They are just South of LA in... Lakewood!
     
  9. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    Has anyone ever actually bought a 6.2 converter from a parts store? Anyone have a part number? I asked my main counter guy at the napa here (which is bar none the BEST parts store I have ever seen) and he told me they couldnt get them. I need one for a TH400.
     
  10. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I got mine from SHIFT MANAGEMENT, it's a company that rebuilds trannies and they provide new TC's as well, I still have one I didn't use, I could sell you.
    I paid $90 for it, how about $100 to your door?
     
  11. bigred81

    bigred81 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Posts:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls City,TX
    Afroman006 you can try a place in San Antonio called Nagoletias Gear they keep all kinds of new and used parts for transmissions and axles. This is where I get all my performance parts for my 700R4 and axle parts. The best part is they know thier stuff.

    bigred81
     
  12. k204dr

    k204dr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    1800 is way too high for a diesel converter. you need one around 1100 or lower stall. the th400 takes a standard 6bt(meaning 6 lug) converter. not sure on the 700 as it has a lockup convertor.
     
  13. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The 700 diesel also has the 6 lug, I have one used sitting here, I just sold my new th400 TC to Afro...
     
  14. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    All the covnerters I found for the 6.2 online were 1600-1800 stall. They were specified as 6.2 specific converters.
     
  15. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    agood diesel converter will stall at 1300
     
  16. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    1100 or lower, 1300, 1600 - 1800.:doah::doah: I don't know, 1800 is what I've read. It wouldn't be the first time I was wrong:bow::bow:
     
  17. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    Did a little more searching and found out stall speed depends on engine and tranny. Any more than than that and I'm in over my head. So I'm bowing out.
     
  18. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Sure it does, but we are talking stock diesel engine and stock tranny
    On my perkins diesel, I can not have an 1800 stall since my top RPM is 1800, and my torque peak starts at 900 RPM.
    :D
     

Share This Page