Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Torque Convertor Install issues

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jekquistk5, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    I can not seem to get my new convertor to slide right into the tranny. I replaced the seal and tried wiggling and turning but with no avail. Heres the pics Am I anywhere close. It just seems to far
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. big dan

    big dan 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Arkansas
    try standing the transmission on its tail end and spinning the torque convertor. thats how ive always put them on, we just spin them until they make three drops and then its on all the way, its a trick my dad showed me.
     
  3. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    I'll try that... but wont all the fluid that I put into the convertor drain into the tranny.
     
  4. big dan

    big dan 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Arkansas
    actually the fluid has never leaked out on me. maybe a little bit but I just slid it on the shaft like you have it and then stood it up and it didnt leak.
     
  5. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    in the second pic, it doesn't look like it is square to teh tranny. may have to move it around a bit more.

    are you sure its a 700r4 converter and not a th350c converter, they are very close in apperance , but the hub that fits into the pump is different.
     
  6. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    I gave the guy the exact numbers of the convertor.. and thats what he handed me. It looks the same, I'll have to check the spines. Its a reman so I have no clue. We shall see
     
  7. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    It could be it just needs to catch just right, but also be aware that the 700 used different input splines over the years. I believe the early 82-82 used a smaller input shaft than the later ones (going from memory so I could be wrong)
     
  8. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    I told the guy the exact year of my truck, that it was a 700r4, and all the numbers and even handed him the old one. He said Yup your good to go. So I hope it just needs some more finese. But its snowing out today :doah: . It was almost 50 yesterday too. I hate Michigan weather
     
  9. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    id make sure you have a 30 spline converter and not a 27 spline converter. you need to count the second set of splines in the converter. the 27 spline input shafts were on 82-early 84, then changed to 30 mid 84.
     
  10. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Its all the way on now. It just needed to take more time, and not get frustrated. I went there stood it up on the tailshaft and turned and lifted up a little and then click, click it dropped right in.
     
  11. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    :waytogo: :waytogo:
     
  12. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,008
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Yeah I just needed to lift up on it rather then rattle it. Standing it up on the tailshaft helped out soo much
     

Share This Page