Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

torque specs for front bearings?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by trogdor4x4, Feb 23, 2004.

1. trogdor4x4

trogdor4x4 Registered Member

Just what it says for a 4x4, 91 w/automatic hubs (I don't know if you need that information)

I tried to get my front end aligned and they say my bearings need to be tightened, but I couldn't find the torque specs for it. /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

And, is there anything I need to do or should do to keep it from backing out?

Obviously you can tell I am new at this. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

2. bigburban383

bigburban383 1/2 ton status

First you need the special hub tool. Looks like a beer can with an opened end with like 4 teeth. you can rent these from murrays/autozone or just buy one. Then you tighten the first nut down when it gets down to snug spin the rotor at the same time tighten it very snug. Then start backing it off slowly, and try and pull the rotor in and out. When you start to feel the very slight movement, tighten just enough to make the movement stop. You can even have a tiny amount of movement to make up for bearing expansion, but its at the brink of no movement. Then you take the lock ring and line up the little tab into the one of the holes of the first nut. Then install your second nut and tighten that down so it wont come undone.

3. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

The spec is zero preload, period.

How you get there is a matter of many opinions, but simply put, the spec is zero preload.

4. trogdor4x4

trogdor4x4 Registered Member

thanks that is very helpful. the beer can looking thing came with the truck when I bought it. I have taken the hub apart but I never knew what is the correct way to tighten it. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

5. bigburban383