Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

torque wrenches

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by surpip, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    do any of you get your wrenches calibrated?
    and if so how often?
    and where do you take them?
     
  2. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    My Snap On roundsman takes mine away for calibration. But only when I have a problem or suspect something. They charge around £40 here.
     
  3. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    You can check it the easy and free way. If you hang a known weight a foot from the center of the socket it should 'click' at that reading. So if you hang a 50 lb weight 1 foot out then it should click at 50 ft/lbs. Then adjust the wrench just above and just below that reading and see when it clicks and when it doesn't. That should tell you if it's reading in the ballpark. You could probably do the same thing with a bathroom scale but it wouldn't be as accurate. Just stand of the scale with your hand 1 foot from the socket and see when then scale reads 50 lbs lighter.
     
  4. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    What are you working on?

    Have you dropped it lately?

    How often do you use it?

    Do you go over the set torque just to get a little more turn on a fastener?
     
  5. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    nothing partucuilar
    just wondering cause we have to get ours at work sent in for cal all the time, just wondering if anyone had thiers checked or not
     
  6. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ahhh; didn't realize you were asking about work. You're with the E-6 squadrons, right?



    Anytime you're using a torque wrench on something critical (for home use, internal engine work (heads, mains, rods) or brakes means "critical" to me...) it should be checked periodically for calibration.

    I worked at a civilian helicopter place where the Chief Inspector checked everyone's TQ wrenches quarterly for calibration; it was an FAA requirement for the company to keep it's Repair Station certificate (HUGE deal in the civilian-aviation world).
     
  7. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    not asking aobut work, i know ours are kept up, just wondering about the wrenches that are in most of our garages
     
  8. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    For working at home I prefer a beam type. They're not as easy or convenient to use as a clicker, but you know when they're out of calibration.
    I just bend the needle back to zero.:D
     
  9. BadBob

    BadBob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndon, KS
    We have to cal check them at the setting we're using them at EVERY time at work. I think they go into the cal lab every 60 days to get adjusted.
     
  10. smalltruckbigcid

    smalltruckbigcid 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    3,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NE Wyoming
    Team Torque does mine www.teamtorque.com was about $30.00 plus freight for mine last time. Oh and they are quick about it too with good customer service.
    George
     
  11. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I've taken mine by the PMEL lab on base and they'll let you do it yourself. I've never done it here at tinker though. I can't imagine it would be any different.
     

Share This Page