Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Total newbie

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by toejam, Sep 27, 2001.

1. toejam

toejam Newbie

I was lucky enough to inherit a 72 CST Blazer from my grandfather. I have been reading some of the posts here and I thought maybe I could get a little feedback.

Here's its status: Except for a 38 gallon gas tank, as far as I know it is 100% stock. I am the second owner; my grandfather was the original owner. The top has never been off, it has 95K miles on it and hasn't been driven off road in probably 20 years and hasn't gone over 60mph in 15 (except for yesterday, when I got it). Heck, it even has white walls on it.

What I'd like to know is this: what's the first step to make this thing off-road worthy? Wheels and tires (its current tires are about 15-year-old Rocky Mountains)? I don't want to do anything major, but would like to be able to handle some off the off-road trails in the mountains to my west.

Any feedback on this (or other newbie advice)? Thanks.

2. JungleBoy

JungleBoy 1/2 ton status

Toe
    You can spend a lot of dough and not increase the utility a great deal. Assuming you want to drive it during the week and take it out on the weekends, I wouldn't do much more at first than put new tires, shocks and brakes on it. Look at the ball joints and the u-joints, too. If you've got granddad's cherry old blazer, I just wouldn't fool with it too much, a CST no less. You can, after you get it roadworthy, consider a mild lift and tunes. What kind of shape is the body in? What engine and tranny do you have?
    Congratulations and good luck
    JB

3. arq

arq 1/2 ton status