Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Towing with tow bar--advise needed

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bedford boy, Sep 19, 2004.

1. bedford boy

bedford boy Registered Member

In three weeks i am going to be towing my 1974 K5 (minus engine/tranny/transfercase) using my 1985 Suburban with a 350. I have installed a tow bar on the K5 and will be towing it from Los Angeles to Salt Lake City (approx 700 miles). The K5 Has 33" X12.5" tires and i was wondering if any of you out there has any towing advise for a complete novice. I am worried with regards to the K5 drifting in and out of lanes!! Thanks in advanced for any help.

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

I've done the long haul tow bar routine twice now. Once an 82 K5 missing motor and a few front clip parts from Austin TX to Vancouver BC, and once a rolling 74 K5 shell from San Diego CA to Vancouver BC.

First of all I do not like the bumper clamp style tow bar...they shift around. I bolted my tow bar to the front of the frame on both K5's. I custom built my tow bar though. The tow bar itself should be level.

I had no trouble with either wandering behind the truck, it's impossible for them to do that. Just keep the steering unlocked and it'll track behind you with no trouble.

You have to watch the towed vehicle's weight. In most states anything over 3000 lbs needs 'trailer' brakes. The 82 from TX was about 3500 lbs...it towed just fine behind my 81 Jimmy, but when I had to stop at the scales when I entered Canada they wouldn't let me tow it any further.

Backing up is impossible without a second person to steer the towed vehicle. The wheels will just go max to the right or left as soon as you reverse.