Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

toy vs. chev

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by PsychoticDeadGuy, Aug 6, 2005.

1. PsychoticDeadGuy

PsychoticDeadGuy 1/2 ton status

What is the specs and the strength on a corp. 10 bolt rear vs. a toyota 8" rear? I now have a 10b sitting in my garage and my buddy keeps blowing up his diff in his toyota, so how hard of a swap would it be?

2. camiswelding

camiswelding 1/2 ton status

I dont profess to be a toyo fan but as I understand it 9 inchers are favored,,,
    a 10 bolt over the toyo would give minimal improvements in strength and not worth the hassle I imagine... but again I have no swap experience

its easy to figure... measure widths... are they very close?
    cut off and re weld the perches with the correct driveshaft angle
    remake the driveshaft with the chevy ujoint to fit the tojo driveshaft... I doubt you could find a crossover ujoint... who knows
    6 luggers fit tojo and chevy so youre good there... unless its not 6 lug

I wouldnt waste my time unless it was for a 9 inch

cam

3. SCOOBYDANNN

SCOOBYDANNN 1/2 ton status

get a toyota v6 third and it will be stronger, aven better than that is the land crusier axle-it's disked and full float

4. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author