Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI adjustability

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by 77crewcab, Dec 5, 2006.

1. 77crewcab

77crewcab 1/2 ton status

I am new to working with fuel injection and am trying to figure out if a stock TPI system will do what I want or if I should look at an aftermarket setup. I am looking at building an engine for my Nova that will be a 383 with Vortec or Etec heads. I know Scoggin-Dickey makes a Vortec TPI base manifold. But I am not real sure how adjustable the TPI systems are and how it is done.
    1. Would it support this type of engine combination?
    2. Am I looking at hooking up a laptop to reprogram the computer or will I have to look at burning chips.
    Any suggestions and/or links to help me understand these systems would be appreciated.

2. Russell

Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

www.chevythunder.com has all of the mechanical / electrical aspect down, while www.thirdgen.org's forums have all of the chip burning info you need :)

You will probally need to consider going with a super-ram or something with a 383. A stock TPI intake barely breaths enough for a bone stock 350 to 4500 rpm, a 383 would be just that much more restricted.

You will want a fairly mild cam with EFI, it should idle smooth, as EFI is better for making torque than it is for making super high horsepower. Make sure the cam has a lobe separation angle of at least 112 degrees to minimize valve overlap, esspecially at an idle.