Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI conversion ?'s

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigOrange90Jimmy, Aug 21, 2002.

  1. BigOrange90Jimmy

    BigOrange90Jimmy 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    TPI conversion ?\'s

    Alright, I know it's been done before and stuff, but I've got some questions. I can get everything to use from an early 90's late 80's something Trans Am. A guy at college told me that I could just splice the wires into my factory TBI setup. Will this work or not? What else would I have to do. All the parts are there, just need to know what else to get. I could also get the chip out of the computer if I have to.
     
  2. 87GMCJimmy

    87GMCJimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    Yup, its not that hard to splice the two wiring harnesses together. When I did my tpi conversion I used a Painless wiring harness but if I had it to do again I would just use the stock truck wiring harness and splice in the needed wires from the tpi donor.

    Mike
     
  3. 88streetblaze

    88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middle of sticks, oklahoma
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    i actually spliced in some of my truck wires into the aftermarket harness i used. I would strongly recomend you get a wireing diagram for both vehicles to make things a lot easier..
     
  4. BigOrange90Jimmy

    BigOrange90Jimmy 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    so he was right? AWESOME! Someone's getting TPI, someone's getting TPI...... /forums/images/icons/grin.gif Now if I need parts, i.e. injectors, where would I look for them. I know they're pricey.
     
  5. 88streetblaze

    88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middle of sticks, oklahoma
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    for most sensors and such just go to the local parts warehouse, injectors and stuff like that i would look into like jegs or summit and compare prices with the local warehouse, I quess i should point out that you wont be using the much of the harness in your truck now for the new set up unless you get something like intergrator harness from Street & performance which will allow you to use your existing harness for the tbi, they have changed there website and i can't remeber off hand what their new site is, it's something like www.hotrodlane.com anyone know?
    anyways, when you do get the tpi make sure you get everything wiring harness, computer, everything that you can get your hands on. it's a worth while swap and you'll enjoy it /forums/images/icons/grin.gif , good luck.
     
  6. JungleBoy

    JungleBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston TX
  7. 88streetblaze

    88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middle of sticks, oklahoma
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    found it harness yeah this will cost a little bit, and when i get home i can dig out my catalog and list the exact price if you want, but this would be easiest way to go from your tbi to a tpi. just a thought
     
  8. 87GMCJimmy

    87GMCJimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    For missing parts look at www.thirdgen.org or www.fbody.com used parts forums. Many people over there upgrade injectors/plenums/throttle bodies/etc and have perfectly good stock ones just sitting around collecting dust.

    Mike
     
  9. ming696

    ming696 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    This is my first post on this forum, so please be gentle /forums/images/icons/smile.gif I was planning on doing a full TPI swap on my '79 3/4 ton, but I'm thinking of selling it and getting a early '90's chevy 3/4 ton. I alread have the complete TPI, modified harness to work with speed density, sensors, etc. As I said the harness has been modified to speed density. Will I be able to swap out the harness from a early '90's truck with this one and not have to much of a headache?

    I may have my '79 shortbed 3/4 ton for sale soon. Email me for pics and full info.
    ming696@swbell.net
     
  10. 88streetblaze

    88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middle of sticks, oklahoma
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    yes and/or no. if you do something like the s&p intergrator harness that i linked above it won't be much of a headache, but if you use the harness you have it will be harder, very doable but it will take some time with the wireing schematics to stick it in. so the question really comes down to time or money. which is more valuable or do you have more of.
     
  11. BillyBob

    BillyBob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Posts:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont, NJ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    What's the price of the integrator?
     
  12. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    ut oh...looks like someone else has the TPI itch.
     
  13. mpascino

    mpascino 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Posts:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    did you use your TBI computer or did you switch over to the TPI? I really don't see much reasoning why the engine wouldn't run,the only differnce is the injector resistance and with the 4 injectors per bank it should be fine. I might try this out and see where it gets me.
    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  14. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    Mine is setting in the garage just waiting until I can get everything I need to do the convertion...... I'm itchen up a storm.....
     
  15. 87GMCJimmy

    87GMCJimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    No, I'm pretty sure you need the TPI computer. You just re-pin the connector to the computer from the TBI setup to the TPI. The only wires you might need to add would be for the MAF sensor if you got for mass air system. If you go speed desity then I believe all the sensors are the same, just different pin outs on the computer and lengthen the wires/add injectors plugs. Once I got figured it all out this would be a very easy/cheap way to go.

    Mike
     
  16. 88streetblaze

    88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    middle of sticks, oklahoma
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    sorry it took so long to respond, it's been a horrible weekend. uhh the harness costs around $600 /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif , but it comes with the computer you'll need, then after that all you'll need to do is hook up one 12 volt wire, put in a high pressure fuel pump and connect the fuel lines. i wish s&p had their tech article online that's in their catolog from where they did this to one of their shop trucks,.

    had i gone with a tpi instead of the lt-1 i would have done this.
     
  17. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    Seems it might be simpler to just get a Painless (or another aftermarket one) harness and start with it and a $100 TPI computer for simplicity..............just a thought. /forums/images/icons/cool.gif
     
  18. 87GMCJimmy

    87GMCJimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    Yes, unsing a painless wiring harness is easier but more expensive. Althought I didn't really like the fit of the painless wiring harness and I sent several hours ajusting it to fit better.

    Mike

    Mike
     
  19. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Re: TPI conversion ?\'s

    $300...............and that is spendy but not compared to the $600 integrator harness posted a few above this ! /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif
     

Share This Page