Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI Info Needed

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by lowlevell, Jan 17, 2001.

  1. lowlevell

    lowlevell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    I know that some of you here have put TPI in your truck,so...
    I have came across a 350 TPI with 70,000 miles.My Sub has a tired TBI 350 (almost 200,000 miles).My question is:

    Will the TBI intake fit the TPI intake? (ports),

    And anything else i may be leaving out here,

    Or should i go ahead and completely convert the Sub over to TPI? :)The TPI 350 is still in a rear ended IROC-Z.So i will be able to get all wires/parts ect.Any input here will be greatly appreciated.Later.....

    89' Almost 3/4 ton 4x4 Sub
    350 TBI, 700r



    One From None
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Do you just want to bolt your TBI intake onto the TPI engine? If so, I think that will work. You'll probably need a custom chip for your computer since the IROC engine breathes a lot better than your truck engine. I'd even go so far as to put a bit more cam into the IROC engine before installing it. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  3. Tommy

    Tommy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    If you can pick it up cheap enough, I would put the tpi and all in. There is a company, I think street and performance that makes a conversion for tbi to tpi. I swapped out the whole harness when I did it. The tpi has excellent torque. If the setup is 88 and older, its an easy swap, the 89 up has the security you have to deal with. Jst my $.02. Tommy

    Drive it Like You Hate It!
     
  4. lowlevell

    lowlevell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    Ack, i think it is an 89. It is my friends IROC-Z. He is currently in the process of trying to buy it back from the insurance.He said i could have the TPI 350 and anything to it for $400 :). I would like to know of any unforseen hassles in switching my truck from TBI to TPI.If its to much hassle I want to know if the TBI intake fits the TPI heads.I've heard something about the head ports being round or square....
    I've never heard of the "security" problems with later TPI's.This truck is my daily driver so when i go to do this,which ever way i decide,i want to make sure i have everything to do it.Thanks.....

    One From None
     
  5. realsquash

    realsquash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE WI
    That "security" is called VATS and can be disabled in the memcal by any of the chip places. IMHO the jump from TBI to TPI will not give enough benefits to make the hassle worth it.

    Squash
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash>http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash</A>
     
  6. Tommy

    Tommy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I might be interested in the tpi setup, if all you want is the longblock. Your TBI manifold will bolt up to the heads. If you want to sell the TPI setup, email me, I'll be interested. Tommy

    Drive it Like You Hate It!
     
  7. lowlevell

    lowlevell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    It sounds like it IS more of a pain than anything.I personally am happy with the TBI.Anyone know or know where i can find the factory specs on the 350 for TBI and the 350 for TPI?And i still havent heard if the head ports are the same:( I think im just going to use the TPI's block and heads.
    I still havent heard back from my friend. If he can buy this back i will post the parts we dont use in the Parts Forum.

    One From None
     
  8. Tommy

    Tommy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yes, the head ports are the same.

    Drive it Like You Hate It!
     
  9. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    It is NOT a hassle to do. Use all the parts you can off the IROC and make it work. You will feel a noticeable difference in power/torque. Don't back off now!

    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     

Share This Page