Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI setup?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 75K5, Apr 9, 2001.

  1. 75K5

    75K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Posts:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Okay another stupid post from somone that dosen't know chevy's yet. I have a 75K5, carburated.

    I can get a TPI setup from an 89 IROC Z-30 for about $500. It comes with wire hareness, ECM, all sensors, mass airflow sensor, intake, heads, distributor, fuel rails, injectors, fuel pump and everything elese you need to make a full working TPI conversion.

    Is this worth the money, and will it work for me?

    Brian
    bjherron@telocity.com
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    talk to frank(blazinor) he has tpi i have seen it it is awesome

    77blazer see it at<A target="_blank" HREF=http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333>http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333</A>[​IMG]
     
  3. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks Shannon.

    That setup is worth every penny of $500. ESPECIALLY since it has the heads.........which you would have needed since the TPI manifold from '87 up has to mate to heads of the same vintage. Only thing you might have to do is get a custom chip made for the ECM, but that is NOT a big deal at all. Lots of places on the internet that can help you out.

    The conversion to TPI ranks up there with the best mods I made to my truck. Did mine half-a$$ed the first time as I got the parts ultra cheap and the guy installing the system did it half-right. And it still was an improvement over the QJet. Then I had the motor rebuilt, with lots of trick goodies, etc. and with upgraded injectors, etc. (24lb/hr instead of the stock 19), custom chip, etc. and it rocks. Very happy with how it runs, driveability, power, etc. No complaints.

    My $.02, get it and you won't ever look back. You can see pics of mine on the site below.


    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  4. 75K5

    75K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Posts:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    alright, I got the TPI setup. It's coming in the mail this week!!!

    I have a buddy with a 89TA and the TPI setup, and he is telling me to buy a set of cylinder heads (I think they are sportsman or world performer???) at $289 each. He also told me to get larger runners, and a diffrent throttle body.

    What is your bore/stroke? Should I get a stroker 383 kit when i rebuild my original motor (4-bolt)? The blazer must be a smooth runner with a strong idle. I would like good mid range power, but not so much low end that it is a challenge to drive in the snow =)

    whatta you think? Should I stick to the 350, or step up in displacment? What's a good 383 stroker kit cost anyways?

    Brian
     
  5. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Check with Summit or PAW for your stroker kit. Seems worth every penny, ask around for guys running 383's (stroked 350's) versus 350's, seems they like them. True enought statement tho - there is NO replacement for displacement.

    Don't know my bore or stroke (at least not on my truck [​IMG]) but it is a standard stroke 400 I have with .030 bore over stock - not sure about the heads you have coming, they are probably more than adequate for what you are doing. Depends on your budget I guess...........I forgot last time, I also upgraded my throttle body from 48mm to 52mm. Not so sure you can get "bolt on" "larger runners" and not sure you even need them. I sure don't and my 406 is nowhere near stock. Mine is a very smooth idle and off idle, the computer/chip compensates for any lopiness from the cam.

    What is amazing is unplugging your computer, put new chip in, fire it off, and listen to the cam lope for the first 10 minutes while the computer is "learning" the new parameters. Cool..............

    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Frank, check out these runners: http://www.tpis.com/pg1-4.html. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     

Share This Page