Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI Throttle bracket?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by LKJR, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. LKJR

    LKJR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2000
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Tx
    hey tpi guys,

    the bracket on the drivers side of the plenum I have, (bought one since I couldn't find mine, and finally found mine, both are the same) places my cable about .75" too far back. The pics I've seen on here the bracket is opposite of mine.[​IMG]

    so did ya'll modify your bracket and reverse it or am I missing something?

    thinking maybe I need this one
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,922
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I used the stock one on my TPI -- I'll snap you a pic this afternoon while, ironically enough, I am fiddling with the throttle bracket on my 89's TBI, lol
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The one on my TPI engine appears to mount the opposite of the one in that HUGE pic. Do you have a shot from the side?

    Anyway, mine of from an '87 Corvette. Perhaps they were different for other vehicles and/or years? :confused:
     
  4. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Mine mounts the same as the one in your pic
    Here it is it mounts the same as yours but mine is off while I wait for the intake RTV to dry before reinstalling it all AGAIN...lol

    [​IMG]
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Mines the same as the one in the huge pic. Must be an F-body vs. Corvette difference.
     
  6. LKJR

    LKJR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2000
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Tx
    hmmm interesting thought. mine is supposed to both be off a fbody.

    I'll get a pic tommorrow.
     
  7. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Which cable are you using...
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    In my case I'm using the stock f-body cable for I *believe* it's an '88. Whatever fits the throttle linkage at the TB. It's the "barrel" style. It's WAY too long for the truck application, but it works fine. It would easily run over or behind the engine and hook up on the passenger side if necessary, as far as I can tell.
     
  9. LKJR

    LKJR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2000
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Tx
    it's a cable off a camaro. it is long and it loops between the firewall and bracket.

    the difference appears to be a bracket that has the flange closer to the firewall vs closer to the radiator
     

Share This Page