Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPI transmission control

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Hossbaby50, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I have heard different things on this and want clearity.

    I was told that when I install my VSS on my truck for the TPI swap I did that I hook the VSS up to the computer, and then I will plug in the square 4 pin harness to my 700R4 (remove the stock one)

    The TPI computer should control my transmissions lockup and the other functions of my transission right? I am confused on this because I thought the TV cable controlled lockup and kickdown.

    What exactly does the 4 pin connector in the trans doo and what will the computer take care of when I install its 4 pin connector? Thanks for any clearification.

    Harley
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The square 4 pin connector you speak of on the driver side of the trans should actually only have 3 wires in it and it controls lock-up feature of the converter. The TV (throttle valve pressure) cable is for adjusting the upshift/downshift points.
     
  3. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    it will have 3 wires in it not 1
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    It might be wired to work with the 3/4 pressure switches (if present in the particular 700R4) but that is for TCC.

    Until 4L60E, the transmissions don't need an ECM to work.
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    From my (admittedly) fuzzy memory:

    One wire lets the computer know when the tranny is in 4th gear.
    One wire lets the computer tell the tranny when it's OK to engage or disengage the TCC.
    One wire provides 12 volts, through the TCC switch on the brake pedal.
     

Share This Page