Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TPS voltage specs please

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bigburban383, May 8, 2004.

  1. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    I have a 90' Suburban with TBI and I need the specs for the TPS voltages. The reason I need the specs is because I put in a TPS from a cavalier TBI, hey it was free and it connected. I was getting .75 to 3.00 volts. Thank you.
     
  2. heavy4x4

    heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delafield, Wisconsin
    .540V closed throttle
     
  3. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,452
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    should be about .5v closed and about 5v at WOT.
    IIRC
     
  4. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    we always went .550, But if you run it at .750, you get a little snappier throttle, but it runs a little richer at idle. I think the max on a voltage sweep is 4.75v.
     
  5. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    When you are adjusting your TPS, if you cannot get it to stay in the range between the Closed Throttle Position Ohm specs and the Wide Open Throttle Ohm specs, just set the Closed Throttle Position spec, and forget about the Wide Open Throttle spec. It will work.

    A long time ago I was setting the Ohm specs on one of the first TPS designs to come out, and I spent almost an hour trying to get it right. When I would adjust the Closed Throttle Position to the correct Ohms, then the Wide Open Throttle Ohms would be too low, and then when adjusted the Wide Open Throttle Ohms, the Closed Throttle Ohms would be too high. I tried to get it as close as possible, then I took it for a drive...the transmission shifted like...$h!t. I sat there scratching my head wondering what to do, when an old grizzled veteran mechanic came over and told me just to set the Closed Throttle Position, and forget the Wide Open Throttle Position. I did it, and it worked!

    I will have to try BaBlazer73's suggestion of upping the Ohms, in the Closed Throttle Position to get more of a jump off throttle from a dead stop.
     
  6. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Yup. Setting up the closed TPS voltage wil give better throttle response. It helps get rid of the dead spot when you mash the throttle. I run mine at .60 to.70V if i can get that much adjustment. You can also hog out the screw holes to get more adjustment if needed.
    As long as you can get over 4.50 Volts at wot. Everything should be fine. Basicly when you get past 3/4 throttle the ECM is switched out of closed loop and runs under a programed full throttle fuel curve
     
  7. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    where/how do you hook up the meter to get a reading? do you stick the probes into the connectors? i dont think mine is set up correctly. you check it with the key on, engine off right? sorry for the hijack.
     
  8. heavy4x4

    heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delafield, Wisconsin
  9. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    what muddysub said!!! /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  10. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    should be the center wire. but cant remember, look for the one with 5 volts w/ key on /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/hack.gif /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif
     
  11. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    where/how do you hook up the meter to get a reading? do you stick the probes into the connectors? i dont think mine is set up correctly. you check it with the key on, engine off right? sorry for the hijack.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Best way is with a scanner/ALDL reader.
     
  12. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    My Cavalier sensor is obviously not going to work if I am only topping 3.0 volts. It works for now I guess, better get a new one before I pull off with boggerless /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  13. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    sorry to hijack again, but i reset my TPS today and have a question. it was set at 1.32v, turned it down to .69v closed. but when i had a buddy put the pedal to the metal it only got to 4v. i can physically twist the throttle on the tbi by hand to max it out and get around 4.9v. could my throttle cable be stretched? is 4v enough?
     
  14. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    Maybe its your TV cable not adjusted properly. Wait, maybe my problem is the TV isn't adjust properly (I got it way tight), Johny your awsome, I got to go check this out.
     

Share This Page