Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tranny acting up

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 90K5, Feb 3, 2001.

  1. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have noticed this a lot recently, but really last night, and it seemed worse. When I accelerate hard in D up to about 55 or 60 and then let off the pedal, the tranny waits a few seconds to shift back into the right gear. Is it supposed to be in 2nd it I was really on it, and then go up to 3rd when I let off? It seems to take a long time to shift back up to third if thats the case. The fluid is full. Is this normal?

    90K5

    See my truck at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502>http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502</A>
     
  2. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Anybody know??????????

    90K5

    See my truck at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502>http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502</A>
     
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    check your vacuum make sure it is not leaking or disconnected if that checks out turn your modulator counter clockwise in about one turn increments till it shifts the way you want it to

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud [​IMG]
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    oh and i should mention that the modulator adjustment screw is inside where the vacuum hose attaches to it

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud [​IMG]
     
  5. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,166
    Likes Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Ummm I think Steve has a 700R-4 if I'm not mistaken, so there would be no modulator to adjust.[​IMG]
    Have you adjusted the TV cable? It may need adjusting, its free and can't hurt to try.

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    dohh you are right i was thinking 350 or 400 sorry i didnt think of the 700 because he only said 2nd and drive my bad i should have looked at the year damn now i feal stupid lol

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud [​IMG]
     
  7. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,166
    Likes Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    HeeHee! Don't ya just hate it when that happens? [​IMG]
    Good info for the TH350 and TH400 owners out there though. I wasn't aware they could be adjusted, let alone how to do it.

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Sure you are not just noticing the torque converter locking back up? I drove my truck for about 2 months before it got "noticeable" (or I was just paying more attention) enough that I took it in, only to find out it was the the TCC operating. That 3-4 shift is so soft on the 700's (most of them) that it felt just like the TCC locking up. It should take a few seconds, they are on a delay. If you really are having as gear problem, try running it up in 2nd, and shifting into 3rd manually. See what happens then. Mine never really wanted to kick down any lower than 3rd on its own.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Sure you are not just noticing the torque converter locking back up? I drove my truck for about 2 months before it got "noticeable" (or I was just paying more attention) enough that I took it in, only to find out it was the the TCC operating. That 3-4 shift is so soft on the 700's (most of them) that it felt just like the TCC locking up. It should take a few seconds, they are on a delay. If you really are having a gear problem, try running it up in 2nd, and shifting into 3rd manually. See what happens then. Mine never really wanted to kick down any lower than 3rd on its own.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page