Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tranny Guys Help got a Tech ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by HispanicPanic, Oct 24, 2002.

  1. HispanicPanic

    HispanicPanic 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Posts:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    ok i know ive not been around for awhile so for that i appolagize, so with that said heres the deal, my tranny went out 2 weeks ago (th350), so i went to the tranny parts store and bought my banner kit, clutch packs, torque converter, washers, shift kit, and well every thing to rebuilt my tranny. you see my 2 nd gear went out and i figured just a simple rebuilt no hard parts right, wrong every thing was screwed in the tranny pump, planetaries all sorts of crap, pilot shaft, just too many hard parts involved so the mechanic that was gonna do the work tells me that he has a 350 loc-up and that he can build one from the two. he got my housing and used all the hardparts from his loc-up and converted mine over to a loc-up so i had to go to the parts store and exchange banner kit and torque converter for a loc-up version. now here is were im questioning his work for one my whole loc-up thing isnt working or i just dont feel it second i asked him about a swicth or how my tranny was gonna go into loc-up without a plug on the side of my tranny housing, he said it would work off my gov. and that the loc-up that he had was a hydrolic loc-up and not electric thats why i had no plug. i was there when he swaped out the valve body over from his to mine and pump with pilot shaft so i know he did swop out the valve body and they are diff. from one another what do you guys think? possible or not PS he did not use his housing cuz his was V shaped on top of bell housing he also said it was an 81-82 tanny out of a buick or something like that /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I would have to look at my book. I can tell you this. My tranny has a pump from a lock up version and I have a non lock up converter.
    If it seems to work ok and shift like it should I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  3. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I have rebuilt a few trannys before and I can tell you that he could be telling the truth if the pump that he put in had the valve in it.
    You see the pumps are 2 kinds, one that is simply a housing with the gears, and one that has a valve in the housing, and the reason I knwo of this is that when I rebuilt mine and it didn't move, I went to a friend of mine who is a specialist, and he offered to rebuild it for me for free or, I could watch and learn what mistakes I made, and pay him $100, so I certainly went with the latter.
    It turns out that when I was putting the pump together I droped the valve so there was no pressure in the pump.
    In a word, there could be a mechanical way to lock up a convertor, logically, using something like that.
    Perosnally I have never heard of something like that, just an assumption, but if it is, it would be smoother than electric, because the transition would be hydraulic.
    I hope there is someone out there that knows more about them.
     
  4. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Oh grim, I was typing my message when you were, so I did get it right. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. HispanicPanic

    HispanicPanic 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Posts:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    it doesnt shift too firm but it shifts when it should and my only complain is that its not locking up and my rpms have gone up instead of down and my take off has suffered as well. he told me it was the wrong tq-converter that i need one with a higher stall i think and that would make my tranny lock and take care of the rest of my issues he did give me a 3month warranty so cash is not an issue any more just down time /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  6. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Sorry but with a higher stall speed convertor your RPM's would be higher.
    Either you misunderstood him, or he made a mistake to put it mildly /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     

Share This Page