Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tranny Probs

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fknfbm53559, Dec 5, 2000.

1. fknfbm53559

fknfbm53559 Registered Member

Guys im a newbie to 4 wheeling, mechanical work and about everything u can think of since i just turned 16. Although i do own a 79 k-5 with a 4 inch rough country and 33x12.5 bridgestone duelers, a custom home built front bumper with rep 8000. I have done most of the interior and cosmetic work myself. But im facing a problem, for a while now my tranny has not been wanting to move, i checked the fluid and it was really low, i put in a few quarts and it ran fine for a few days, then the same thing happened, went out and checked it and it was low again, and there was a giant puddle in my driveway. Up until tonight i had to put fluid in it everytime i got gas. Tonight as i was leaving my house it ran fine. i got out on the highway and it totally quit. I coasted to a stop and had to drive all the way back to my house in reverse. I had just put a quart of fluid in it about 10 minutes before i left so i know it had it. It acts as if the clutch is constantly working like the tranny is in nuetral. it does nothing but skyrocket my rpms when i hit the gas. its really got me worried because as u know its christmas time and i know how much trannys cost. this is my only ride and i have no clue whats wrong with it. if you guys have any suggestions email me at jmpirkle@lakecountry.net i would really appreciate some help. do i need a new tranny? clutch? or what?

2. EDdaTREE

EDdaTREE 1/2 ton status